Doing something right

Honestly there is such a dizzying array of things that go wrong and spell death for your garden, it’s really a wonder that people ever made a full switch to argiculture. 

And on some rare occasions you can walk about your garden as king Midas must have (midasically?) sparking brilliant new life with every wafting finger.

Well that’s how I felt this morning as I noticed that nearly every single fruit tree graft was showing signs of flower budding and even threats of foliage. I was literally trying to leave the house for leisure (my kids are 2 and 4, you may understand what free time means) (also I say leisure, but I mean to go volunteer to pull weeds at the West County Seed Bank),  when I noticed the new buds and I had to run around the yard taking pictures… I hope those of you shoveling snow and trying to warm frozen pipes aren’t too jealous.

Anywho, this was my first foray into grafting, and I used all cleft grafts because that seemed the strongest connection. I know that it’s usually used for vertical branches but I figured that the rules don’t apply to me. On to the evidence of life:



And for those nameless doubters who thought hacking the impossibly tall and straight baby chocolate persimmon tree was the wrong call, here it is in all its stunning beauty:



And the buds are swelling, stretching the protective paint, ready to make new branches at just the right height.



Ok, not thoroughly impressive, but next year, when you see the shape of this tree, you will see it is tree shaped.

One thought on “Doing something right”

Leave a comment